Urch Forums

Accepted to write FPGEE with 4 year BPharm after 2003 + 1 pre-U

vvfong

Hi everyone,

I'd share my case. I graduated from Malaysia after 2003 with a Bachelor of Pharmacy and ECE says I have a 1 year equivalence of pre-pharmacy coursework.

So I was accepted to write FPGEE in April/October 2009.

As I've read in the previous thread, some were not issued a FPGEC eventhough they passed FPGEE and TOEFL iBT.

I thought as long as NABP accepts you to write FPGEE, means you've fullfilled the requirements eventhough its a 4-year degree after 2003.

Is there anyone who has similar qualifications like me but was issued a FPGEC? Its getting me worried.

Thanks.:grad:

Hi!

I feel very glad and relieved to see your case!! :)

If you read through my previous posts and threads, I pretty much asked the same question over and over regarding my case due to uncertainty.

This is the situation that I am facing:

The thing is, it is known that Australia, the country itself has a 4 year pharmacy degree (the general norm). So I wasn't really sure whether I was eligible for FPGEE or not, even though I had to(due to personal circumstances) take at least 1 year university in the US before transferring to my current Aussie pharm school. In other words, I wasn't sure if the COUNTRY ITSELF as a whole also had to have a 5 year degree.

I would like to ask some Qs about your situation:

1. Does Malaysia itself offer 4 year pharm degrees to all students? And is admission to pharm school straight after high school?

2. What subjects did you take during the 1 year pre-university?

3. Did your pharmacy school require you to take that pre-uni before admission to pharm school?

Hi there,

1 & 3. Yes, Malaysia ONLY offers 4-year pharm degree in all universities and colleges. However, it requires A-level or a 2 year pre-U in government schools prior to admission. They do not accept students straight after high school.

2. During the pre-U, we study biology, chemistry, maths for 2 years.