Urch Forums

Low GRE scores

az_zulu

:(I just took the GRE in December and also this past week. My scores are quite embarassing. In December I received the following scores: Q: 360, V: 310. Writing: 4. I studied for a month and retook it this past week and the results were even worse: Q: 290, V:410. I was getting a 510 on Q and a 410 on V when I completed practice tests so I'm not sure what happened. I started to get a bit nauseous during the last section this time around, which was the quantitative section, so I don't know if that had something to do with my horrific score.

I'm applying to Masters programs in SLP for this fall. One school doesn't require the GRE's which is great but it's not my top choice. I've always struggled with these types of standardized tests (i.e. couldn't break a 1000 on the SAT) and so I'm thinking I should definitely write an addendum on my applications. Those schools that require the GRE are looking for a score of a 1000 or more combined.

Some background academic history on me:

Bucknell University - GPA: 3.31, Degrees in Psychology and Spanish and followed the Pre-med track

Tufts University - GPA: 3.78, Masters in Child Development

I should also add that I took the GRE 5 years ago (so the scores have since expired). My scores were 550 Q, 410 V and 4 on Writing. I'm thinking I will attach a copy of these old scores to the addendum I write up. What do you think?

I'm currently working as a project manager in an Autism Research center, managing my own project. I also have previous work experience abroad working with kids on the spectrum. My boss is a renowned expert in the field and has offered to talk to a faculty member at my number one choice which I hope will help considering my current situation. I haven't told her my exact scores because they are just too embaressing.

Please send me any thoughts or comments you have. They will be greatly appreciated!