Urch Forums

Stanford PhD taking questions

stanfordian

hi everyone. I'm a 3rd year PhD student (engineering, but working with a business school professor on applied economics problems) at stanford. I came to this forum by accident but have found it very interesting. I understand that this is the time of the year when people are just hearing about their admissions. I'd be happy to answer questions that you might have.

Cheers!

• Like 2

• Replies 110
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

hi everyone. I'm a 3rd year PhD student (engineering, but working with a business school professor on applied economics problems) at stanford. I came to this forum by accident but have found it very interesting. I understand that this is the time of the year when people are just hearing about their admissions. I'd be happy to answer questions that you might have.

Cheers!

your profile?

how is the business school?

The PhD qualification procedure differs greatly from one department to the next. I assume you are interested in EE.

The EE qualifying exam is actually not that bad. Each student is given two tries to pass, and the cumulative pass rate exceeds 50%. Keep in mind that many of the exam-takers are masters students wanting to move to the PhD program, and as such 50% is in fact very high. Other departments have either no such provision for masters students or have a much lower pass rate (20-25% for some, I'm aware).

In general I'd characterize Stanford's PhD qualification system as fair. I don't feel that there is an intention to take more and then screen.