Urch Forums

Please help

sreeram

Hai all,

I am new to this forum site. I had finished my GRE and TOEFL in this month. Please help me in selecting my univ. I am chemical engg. graduate and planning to app for a PhD next fall.

Bachelor's: Private college(Affiliated to JNTU, Hyd);

Aggregate: 80.33% (topper:85%)

Master's: IIT Madras

CGPA: 9.65/10 (class topper)

Internship: Max Planck Institute, Germany

Publications: 2 accepted, 1 submitted

GRE:1360 (V:590; Q:770; AWA:3.5)

TOEFL: 223-280.

As of now, I am planning to app for

University of Houston

University of Delaware

University of Texas, Austin

What are my chances in the above univ and also please suggest me other univ( I am planning to app around 8 to 10 univ)

Thanx in advance

holden,

I am a chemical engineering . graduate. My publication are in Industrial and engineering , Chemistry Research. Is ur major chemistry or chemical engineering ?

I'm a chemist (science). The link on my profile is below :) It seems to me, I'm the only communicative chemist here - so let's keep in touch ;)

I think, you have a strong profile. Max Planck is one of the best. It means a lot, I guess.

Without being picky to IF: journla is published by ACS - it is internationally recognized and peer-reviewed :) That's good! [clap]

On your place, I would simply apply to top-10 - Stanford, Caltech, U of Minessota, Georgia Tech and so on.

Hm, why University of Houston? Never see it in the rankings. Is it worth to go there? :whistle:

sreeram, actually i am not from chem eng background. I am from CS background. I have commented on your chances from an engineering point of view. UT Austin is very highly ranked for eng, while the two others are between 50-100. I am not claiming I am 100% sure about my assertions.

Good luck with your admissions!