Urch Forums

Choose among CMU, Stanford and Berkeley!

thecandidate

Hi, I am recently accepted to the MISM program of Carnegie Mellon University.

I also applied to the Management Science and Engineering program at Stanford and to the Information Systems Management program at UC Berkeley. If everything goes well, I expect to be accepted by both programs. I must give a response to the admission offer of CMU before the application results of Stanford and Berkeley are announced. So I must select between those programs.

I studied computer science as first and business administration as second major. I made internships in IT companies. So mainly, I am concentrated on IT industry. All three programs are technology oriented, which fits my background.

Each schools have some pros and cons, let me list those:

CMU:

+ highly reputed in the IT industry, the program has a very high value in commercial rankings, attractive curriculum

- located in pittsburgh :)

Stanford:

+ It is Stanford :) , located in the silicon valley, palo alto is a beautiful place to live in

- The program is not too much related with IT, rather students can specialize in IT via electives.

Berkeley:

+ strong CS background of the school, close to the silicon valley, berkeley is as beautiful as palo alto.

- the program is not very much related with business view of management but more related with the information management (psychological and social aspects)

I will be glad for any help that makes it easier for me to decide which program to select. Thanks in advance.

Hi Ancalagon The Black,

thanks for the reply.

I definitely want to work, rather than research. I did some research as part of my undergraduate study, I wrote a paper and presented it in two conferences. After all, decided not to go further on academic side of the field.

I think you can remember my profile from another thread you replied but I add it here as well:

Major 1: Computer Science ; CGPA: 3.84/4 ; Class rank 1/50