|
|
#1 (permalink) |
|
So many things to do...
Forum Admin
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 8,211
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
I'll cut to the chase here. Do NOT violate copyright laws. Do NOT make requests of others to do the same. Do NOT link to sites that are widely known to violate copyright laws. Offending members will be banned.
I know some of you will wonder why I'm using such strong language. Over the last year or so, a few things have happened behind the scenes that I'm not really at liberty to discuss, but here is one thing I can tell you: One of our members recently called me on the telephone. S/he had received a phone call directly someone from ETS in New Jersey about a post s/he made here. ETS threatened some sort of action against the test taker, but a final decision wasn't made when I talked to this person. S/he was told that the matter would be referred to committee for discussion, and that's all I know about it. But there's more that all of you need to be aware of. This is what I'm sure of: Our forums are being monitored by large organizations and their lawyers. At least one company is using a bot to scan our forums for certain content. Some members here participate at least partly in admissions decisions at prestigious schools. This is what I suspect: I believe our forums are read by paid admissions officers from various schools. I also believe that some of our members are notifying schools and organizations of copyright infringement. Folks, it is just wrong to violate copyright laws. If you see any copyright violations, please notify me immediately. I'd like to keep this thread open for thoughtful discussion of the issues here, and although I welcome your feedback, I really have no choice in the matter in terms of the action I must take. |
|
|
|
|
|
#2 (permalink) |
|
TestMagic Guru-in-Training
![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 704
![]() |
While I agree that no one should violate copyright law, and I think WAY too many people here link to sites that are using copyrighted material as content and then using google adwords to make money, in other words: stealing work and selling it.... basically thieves, I do not think that admissions departments at any universities are monitoring posts here in some attempt to find out bad people and have that effect their admissions. (which seems to be what you are hinting). I imagine that is illegal, but even more to the point, impossible.....
Also, I have noticed that most of the free material on TOEFL out there is all for the OLD TOEFL, not the iBT, so just a note to all TOEFL people: that free material is not only stolen, it is also probably worthless to you! Cheers, Tino
_ _ _ _ SIG _ _ _ _
Housing for International Students in California |
|
|
|
|
|
#3 (permalink) |
|
So many things to do...
Forum Admin
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 8,211
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Tino, I'm not sure what may come of a paid admissions officer reading these threads; I simply suspect some do.
I agree with you about the spamming to download sites just to make money from Google. |
|
|
|
|
|
#4 (permalink) |
|
TestMagic Guru
Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 3,045
![]() ![]() |
What is Copyright Infringement?
Thanks Erin for bringing it up.
Many international students may not be aware of this issue. American society takes this issue seriously. You may be kicked out of schools if you violate this law. What is copyright infringement? Please read the link below. http://www.whatiscopyright.org/ Knok
_ _ _ _ SIG _ _ _ _
"Every reason that tells you that things will never change disappears." "I did what I had to do because it is the right thing to do."
|
|
|
|
|
|
#5 (permalink) |
|
TestMagic Guru
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,172
![]() |
BTW, as a public service message, I would point out that it's never a good idea in any forum to use your real name. Getting slapped on the wrist by ETS is nothing compared to having a stalker.
Last edited by CalmLogic : 01-03-2007 at 11:20 AM. |
|
|
|
|
|
#8 (permalink) | |
|
TestMagic Guru
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,172
![]() |
Quote:
_ _ _ _ SIG _ _ _ _
Admit Profiles, MSCS Admit Chances, CS Internships, TopCoder, Programming Challenges (requires Firefox) IBM and the Holocaust GRE Computer Science Subject Test: ETS Booklet (solutions at Yahoo GRECS group), MFT, Titanium Bits, Guide, More Links more CS practice: Stanford Comps GATE CS/IT: GATEForum, Yahoo, Freshers, Q & A, Mock Exams & Solutions, GATEMentor Last edited by CalmLogic : 01-08-2007 at 01:17 AM. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#9 (permalink) |
|
So many things to do...
Forum Admin
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 8,211
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
I have PM'd you about your concerns.
Also, there's nothing wrong with discussing the test in vague terms; it's the disclosure of test items (questions) that they're concerned about. The person who got the phone call from ETS had disclosed the actual question he got on his/her recent test. Last edited by reactor : 04-02-2007 at 04:21 PM. |
|
|
|
|
|
#10 (permalink) |
|
TestMagic Guru-in-Training
![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 704
![]() |
Jeez, calm down calmlogic! :-) ETS is not the CIA (I guess).
Just note to everyone here: 1) Don't put this cool site in jeopardy by posting blantantly coprighted items 2) DONT USE YOUR REAL NAME! Have you never used an internet forum before? Really...... Tino
_ _ _ _ SIG _ _ _ _
Housing for International Students in California |
|
|
|
Contact TestMagic TestMagic Forums Archive
Link to TestMagic
TestMagic Locations
Legal
Privacy
Partner Sites:
GMAT Sentence Correction
SAT 2400
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0
Copyright © 1998-2008 TestMagic
Ad Management by RedTyger