Urch Forums

Disappointed with ACT score

Lisha Bello

I just took the ACT for the first time in June and I scored a twenty-two(22). I am so disappointed because I actually did study and my parents hired a tutor. I studied using Barron's, the real ACT guide, and Princeton Review. I even studied a day before the test. I constantly scored a 27-28 on the practice tests, yet I did horrible on real exam. I guess anxiety took over my ability to perform well on the test. Also, I did not have a timer and I found myself running out of time on some sections. How should I study over the summer to improve my score and what books other than I mentioned should I buy to study? I have a good gpa(3.8 unweighted as a junior) and I don't want my ACT scores to weight me down from getting into a good college.

• 2 weeks later...

Hi there. It's quite common for people to feel disappointed with their test scores, no matter what they are.

First, some questions I'd like you to answer to yourself honestly: did you study as much as you think you should have? Did you put in enough time preparing? Are you satisfied with your level of effort? Do you think you could have or should have tried harder? These are important questions, ones that you should think about if you're going to seriously try to raise your score.

Raising your test scores requires a good amount of work – these are not easy tests (namely the ACT and the SAT); they are, in fact, designed to be difficult and challenging for almost every single person who takes the test. They need to be hard enough that even the best-prepared high school senior will struggle with a few questions (otherwise, the test is flawed).