Urch Forums

MSCS at UChicago vs MCIT at Penn

owego

I come from a sociology background have have almost 0 formal computer science experience, but I've been accepted into two computer science programs that don't require any prerequisites. My final goal is either a PhD in computational social science or to work as a software developer. The factors floating through my head are as follows:

1. Time to degree-

Uchicago=1 year (11 total courses)

Penn=2 years (10 total courses)

The one year nature of the Chicago program is very appealing. It would allow me to get the skills I need and get on with my life quickly. This is especially appealing if I do wind up going for a PhD. However, If I want to get a job as a software developer, I feel like the condensed program will hurt me as I won't have time for an internship or anything like that.

2. Ranking in the field-

Penn seems more highly respected in computer science, but Chicago may be up and coming.

3. Recruiting-

I don't know the answer to this one to be honest

4. Title of Degree-

Despite similar coursework, the degrees have different names. Master of Science in Computer Science seems like it would look better on a resume than Master of Computer Information Technology

5. Quality of Program-

When people mention they want a master in computer science, but don't have a background in computer science, Penn is almost always suggested. Chicago does not seem to be mentioned as often, but this could just be due to a lower profile. Also, the MCIT program has a 20% acceptance rate... while Chicago does not publish their acceptance rate, one random website I stumbled across listed it at 80%. That figure could be completely gibberish, but all around I have reason to doubt the quality of Chicago's program.

6. Opportunity Cost-

Costs of the program are pretty much the same. However since the Chicago program is a year shorter, it has a lower opportunity cost.