Urch Forums

UPenn vs NYU

I am an international student and im interested in pursuing Masters in Computer Science.I was hoping if you all could help me in deciding between these two universities. The seniors may be in a better position to compare the 2 colleges. To me both universities are good.According to my calculations the break down of the two univs goes like this

total effective cost : if we consider the whole course, NYU is cheaper than UPenn by abt $12000

internship and job scene : again i think if u consider only financial companies then NYU is still btr than UPenn. At the end of the day thats wat i wana join. Even if we compare the tech biggies ,they come to both the univ for FT's

living cost : both are same and comes roughly around $800 a month (off campus )

assistantship : possibility of gettin ta's at UPenn but it doesnt come with a fee waiver.so kinda like an on-campus job

course : i like the course at both places.Also with UPenn we have the option of takin up 2-3 course from Wharton. Similarly we can take 2-3 course at Stern aswell

on-campus job : easily available at both places. But NYU has an edge here

plus another advantage of NYU is that international students can avail a student loan from Citibank at arnd 8% without a cosigner and any colateral

the only thing i believe is in favour of UPenn is the ivy league tag.But even NYU has a strong reputation.

somewher down the line i wish to do an MBA and im really confused b/w the two

I'd really apreciate it if all of you could give your inputs on this

Thanx in advance!!

http://talk.collegeconfidential.com/images/statusicon/user_offline.gif

I think you did a very good analysis in favor of NYU.

plus another advantage of NYU is that international students can avail a student loan from Citibank at arnd 8% without a cosigner and any colateral
Wow!

the only thing i believe is in favour of UPenn is the ivy league tag.