Urch Forums

MA Economics at CUNY (City college-ccny and baruch)

gojoe

Hello,

I am software professional (masters degree in Comp Sci from a top 20 US university) who is testing the waters for a career change into economics.

I know that I am kind of odd man out considering I have a masters in CS and already have about 5-7 yrs of work experience in software field. So I do not fit the profile of a typical MA econ applicant. However, I think I do need to take this step of career change, having recently realized that I may not be able to do fickle software work for the rest of my life.

Now, due to my CS and engineering background, I have good math coursework in my undergrad. Average GPA in grad and undergrad, but great references (both work and academic). I figured that'd be enough along with my masters degree in CS and years of work ex for NYU Econ MA program to give me admission. I could not be more wrong. I recently got a reject from them for Fall 2009. The only way I could understand this rejection is - weakness in my SOP and references. My SOP was not good considering I have taken only 1 course in economics ever - that too more in my second year undergrad about 12 yrs ago. My references I know got to the dept very late - first reference got there last week of Mar; rest two got there first week of April. The deadline for application was Mar 1. So, even though my application was submitted in time, I think my SOP and late references screwed it up.

Since I am desperate to get admitted to an econ program in NY area (I live there), I figured I should apply to Baruch and City college.

My questions are:

- What do you guys think of my chances of getting into a respectable graduate econ program in NY area. I mean, I got reject at NYU, so may be my chances are not good.