Urch Forums

I have to go to academia and I hate it (advice needed)

difjdof

Hello, everyone. I'm a long time lurker and happy to be here

Before anything, I just want to point out that I'm not a troll so please don't treat me like one

I'm an undergrad (finished my studies last year) in a third world country. last year I applied to most high ranking universities (for masters) just to check the waters and got into almost all of them. (think mit, Vanderbilt, Princeton, LSE, etc...) So I believe I have what it takes to (at least academically) to get into high finance.

But I don't have the money to pay for this programs, this means I have to go to a university that will give me the full ride, in my case, it would be Bocconi, Toulouse, Tilburg, etc... (all three even gave me a half TA position) essentially the best programs mainland Europe has to offer. Problem is that (and all these schools have made it perfectly clear) my chances of getting a job are minuscule since I'm not an EU citizen and even If I get a job in London, which is very unlikely I simply will not be able to work in the US which is where I want to end up. most of the admission team and professors in these programs have advised me to get a Ph.D. after my masters and go into academia since I apparently have the skill set needed. from the looks of it, there is a very good chance for me to get into top 20-30 finance program or even top 10 economics if I go to Bocconi's ESS.

I even got admitted to BYU's MAcc which essentially means I can easily attend a top 10 Ph.D. program in accounting and get a $225,000+2/9 job as an AP.