Urch Forums

Please please evaluate my chances...

PhD_Dreamer

Hi everybody!

This is my first post and I am in great need of any help. I am currently doing my MS and need someone to evaluate my chances of getting a PhD. Here is my situtation / profile:

Citizen of India

Major : Electrical Engineering

Undergraduate GPA : 3.39 ((My marks/ Highest marks)*4) with one backlog in an unrelated subject

Undergraduate University: University of Madras

TOEFL : 293 / 300

GRE: 800Q 630V 6.0A (1430/1600 + 6.0)

The project I did during my final year was in Plasma Propulsion and was pretty good. I applied for MS in the US. A Prof was impressed with my research which I had done in my undergraduate final year and I have been admitted to the University of New Mexico as an RA.

My current GPA is 4.13/4.00 and I am majoring in Plasma Physics. I intend to apply for PhD in the fall of 2006. Unfortunately, all universities researching in Plasma Physics are top universities and are difficult to get in. (MIT, Princeton, UC Berkeley, UCLA, UMD, Gatech, UIUC).

I have obviously chosen a thesis option. I have attended one conference and will be attending two more in the forthcoming year (IEEE, and APS (American Physical Society)). My prof and our research lab mates are planning to publish two international papers in the forthcoming year.

I understand that my undergraduate GPA is low and here is what is bothering me:

1. I am told that I will be exempt from TOEFL since I am doing my MS from a US University. Is this true for all universities in the US?
  2. To what extent will universities I apply to weigh my undergrad GPA?
  3. To what extent will my SOP and recommendation letters overshadow my undergraduate GPA?
  4. How much weight is given to a master's GPA?
  5. Is it even worth applying to any of the universities mentioned above? Are there any other approaches or ways of getting admitted such as through some professors etc? How effective are they?