Urch Forums

Having second thoughts while playing the waiting game...

Water Lilly

As I wait for a word about doctoral admissions, I am starting to have second thoughts about a Ph.D. I am currently a HS teacher and am looking to move away from my town to another area w/ better opportunities. (Ph.D is NOT an escape hatch..I'm just saying I have other options), The Ph.D is something I had thought about off and on for years but never felt the ultimate burning desire that I would "die" w/o it. I alreayd have a Masters. I think it would be great to get one, however I am wondeirng about the time committment. And mental health.

My Masters is in an area I don't really like teaching. I'm thinking that if I get a Masters in English it would qualify me to teach at the community college level and allow me to do tech writing like I want to. The Ph.D program I applied to has a Rhet/Comp & Professional writing focus (which would be nice) but I am wondering if I had followed this path as an undergrad and subsequently in grad school, would I want it now?

Is there another way to my goals? I am getting philosophical about this. Does anyone else feel like they are second guessing themselves? Is this normal?

Originally, I went in asking about the Masters to maybe boost me into teaching college level Composition full time and tech writing. However, the Dept. Chair looked at me and said "why don't you apply for the Ph.D instead? You already have a masters." When I told him it wasn't in English, his response was "so?". :hmm:

• Like 1

A PhD is a huge commitment, and when you feel you're not really 100% convinced that this is what you want to do, it might be better not to do it at all. If you feel you want to teach at community colleges and work as a technical writer, there is no need to get a PhD at all! Of course, if you have time and funding and you just love studying, why not, afterwards, you can still teach at community college and work as a tech writer.