Urch Forums

Masters in Economics at NYU for Econ Phd in UK... - poor grades

EconEconEcon

Hi

I am looking to get some advice because I feel like i need to make some very important life altering decisions soon.

My Background:

I did my Bachelors in Engineering from Cornell (courses included all the core engineering math requirements, Core Operations Research courses which have a lot of math) and did a minor in Economics (basic macro and micro with electives).

But I have an extremely poor undergraduate GPA, below 3.0. I was emotionally and financially very stressed…. But there really is nothing that I can say to explain my lack of responsibility in handling that stress. I messed up big time. After that I decided to do a Masters from Columbia in Health Policy.

In the course of my masters, I did an internship with a think tank which made me realize that I would like to switch my field to economics and would like to peruse Ph.D in Economics.

I have no full time work experience so far but I have some good internship experience in international organizations.

My GRE Score is 790 Q and 640 V.

Options:

I am currently considering four options. I would be extremely grateful for any advice you guys could give me……

• My first option is a Masters program in Economics that I have got into in N.Y.U.
  • My second option is a job as a Program Coordinator in Columbia University’s grant funded project health Initiative. I am interested in this because I have no full time work experience so far, and this seems an ideal way to get some. Also while at Columbia I could take some economics courses for free, as long as I am an employee of Columbia University.
  • My third option is a Masters in Economics Program at Boston University
  • Finally, I have a full funding to Brandeis University in their Masters in International Economics and Finance program.

My concerns: