Urch Forums

021 Reform is seldom brought about by people who are concern

ramya

021: Reform is seldom brought about by people who are concerned with their own reputation and social standing. Those who are really in earnest about reforming a government, an educational system, or any other institution must be willing to be viewed with disdain by the rest of the world.

To whosover reads this essay

Hi ! I am studying in final year B.E Computer Science & Engg and I’m giving Gre on 23 Oct. Please let me know ur views about my essay and whether you think it will get at least a score of 4. I am wondering whether I should postpone my exam till my essays improve. My problem is that I have a good vocabulary but my writing tends to be brief and to the point. So kindly drop a reply if you read this.

"Reform is seldom brought about by people who are concerned with their own reputation and social standing. Those who are really in earnest about reforming a government, an educational system, or any other institution must be willing to be viewed with disdain by the rest of the world."

Reforms are essential for the continuing progress of humanity.The word 'reform' itself explains its significance. To reform is to re-form ideas, concepts, institutions, beliefs. To challenge established beliefs and institutions is a daunting task, one that requires total commitment on the part of aspiring reformers. To be concerned with his own reputation and social standing is for a reformer to meander from his stated path.