Urch Forums

FIRST TIME ESSAY-NEED FEEDBACK

sam93

Hi guys this is my first time writing an issue essay.I would like a feedback on the same.

TOPIC

People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

RESPONSE:

There are a number of factors that decide what path in life people choose to take. These factors do not lie in their hands and are largely decided by a sequence of actions taken by their ancestors. Or they might just choose to go with the crowd and do what others do. Nowhere do the majority of people exercise their freedom or creativity in thinking how to live their lives.

One of the most common expressions an Indian parent would use is:’Look at your cousin, he made it into a top engineering college’. What these parent means to imbibe into their child’s mind is that he/she should strive hard and compete with the rest of the country to get into some of the best educational institutions. Every kid who finishes his 10th grade in India is thrown into a crazy grind to start preparing for a life of an engineer. Children are never at crossroads to decide what they mean to do going ahead in their life. They are just cajoled and manipulated into thinking that engineering is the only career choice that is apt for them.