Urch Forums

Request you to please review and give feedback on the essay

Hi All,

My GRE is scheduled on 16 Sep. For a month now, I have been working on Quants and Verbal, parking writing for the end. I started practicing my essays today and this is my first one. Would be grateful for critique and feedback. Thanks in advance!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Teacher remuneration has been the subject of great debate in recent years. While teaching has often been romanticized as a noble profession that creates individuals for the society, one cannot ignore the fact that teachers do not operate in vacuum – they are also constrained by the forces of the economy and they too have bills to pay. Low Levels of remunerations has also discouraged people from taking up teaching as a profession, leading to an acute shortage of faculty across all levels of education. Of the many proposals to reform the system of remuneration for teachers, one school of thought champions basing the remuneration of teachers on the academic performance of their students.