Urch Forums

FOR GRE BCM Test takers OCT 2007 and NOV 2007

hello

I m taking GRE BCM test -nov 2007 @ canada

GRE General on December 2007

i got 2 months to study for GRE BCM and 1 month for GRE GENERAL

going to attempt both test in canada

after that TOEFL

wut u guyz think ???? 2 months for BCM and 1 month for General will be enough time ?

My background is i did Msc in biochemistry from SBSPGI Dehradun (Ist Div), One Publication and almost 2 years Research Experience @ PGIMER Chandigarh

and Want to persue for Graduate Studies in Canada

any reference to the material for BCM or GENERAL

Thanks

hi sohi..

2 months for the subject GRE exam should be sufficient. For the general GRE, 1 month might just fall short, because the word lists need to be mastered along with the rest of the sections...u could try preparing for both exams together...with appropriate time management.

it might just work...

good luck!

aninsen.

• 2 weeks later...

aninsen,

what textboks do you recommend for studying th e topics listed onthe ets website. Iassumed the topics lsited there are accurate. I ahve lehninger biochemistry, which is huge, Albert's Molecular Biology, Griffits Genetic Analysis. I've heard taht some USMLE books can be good, but don;t know which ones, and if they will help at all.

Also, another question. I am stil ahving doubts about taking Biology or Biochemistry. I know that the percentile matters a lot. Are there less people taking the biochem?

Thanks in advance!

Dear Tide,

I think the books that you have are just fine. this is the list that i think should work.

1.Lehninger or Stryer -for Biochemistry

2. Lodish -for Molecular Biology

3. Bruce Alberts - for Cell biology

4 Griffiths- for Genetics.

Unfortunately, i am not aware of any USMLE books, however couple of people have mentioned about hthe Schaum's series of books, but I am afraid I havent got a clue about those either.