Urch Forums

GRE CS Subject Exam with regards to my profile

schrilax

hi folks,

i wanted some advice/info on how to proceed with my application process.

This below is my profile and i am providing it so that everyone gets a clearer picture on where and how i stand with regards to my intended aim of doing my MS.

i am a CS guy and i have done my bachelors from NIT Rourkela.

first class with honours (77%)

X 90% and XII 89%

i have been working with a software MNC for 3 years now

and have had a good career there.

i have won some accolades along on the way.

my final year project was on genetic algos and was rated the best project for my dept.

i have no research papers/publications.

with regards to my LORs

i would get one from a CS prof in IIT KGP.

(i did my NITRKL second year summers there)

i would get 2 more from the 2 senior most profs from my dept.

(they are so senior that they become HOD of our dept alternately)

maybe another one from another of my dept profs who has

many publications in networking to his name(done his PhD abroad).

with regards to General GRE:-

i plan to write it in june first week. i had taken a date in oct last but couldn't write it due to work pressure. in the mocks i did i scored in the 1450-1530 range. even though this means nothing, i am hopeful of scoring the same when i retake it in june.

with regards to my interests:-

i am interested in doing my MS in Algorithms/Data Structures and Parallel Computing Techniques(the former forming part of Theoretical Comp Science, the latter being from Systems.)

i am in a dilemma on whether to write the GRE CS Subject Exam coming november. it is because of this. i have had people telling me that a subject GRE score would not help me much and that its mostly for people who are looking for a stream change i.e. looking to dive into the CS stream or those who have a mediocre academic career and want to enhance and profess their CS skills to the various univs.