Urch Forums

Which one is the smart move : GRE or Revised GRE ??

Asif014

Hi guys,

I am sure you are aware by now that ETS is launching the revised GRE from august 1, 2011.

Now I'm currently in my third year of engineering & probably will graduate in early 2012.If I take the the current GRE before august 2011 I can prepare from now with all the available resources given it is valid for 5 years..

Or should I wait until my graduation and take the new one which I'm kind of hesitant about because it's new and it will take some time for people getting used to it.

What do you guys think?? Please share.Cheers

Well, if I were you, I would have taken the newer version, as it depends more on critical reasoning, analyzing and synthesizing written materials and understanding critical relationship between different parts of a text. It is more challenging (more like GMAT verbal). As there is no more Antonyms and Analogy questions in this new version, dependence on vocabulary (without context) is not going to work. Reading (and understanding) skill is something ETS is emphasizing on as they are trying to establish GRE as an admission exam for business schools.

• 9 months later...

Hi

This is my first post ever....so plz be kind to me...:) I have been planning to take GRE for really long now, and now I'm stuck in the dilemma of which is the better choice?? Old or revised?? I went through the ets study material yesterday....got a faint idea of the pattern, but I don't think the study material is sufficient. If I plan on taking the old GRE, I have about 2 months 20 days before I take the test...is it sufficient?? I have seen my husband prepare for GMAT critical reasoning and RCs, he says you have to develop a knack for solving them(now that the new GRE has more RCs and CRs) ....I'm so confused....plz help me.

P.S. I'm 25 years old, busy mother of an 18 months old, staying at home full time :)

• 3 weeks later...
Hi

can anybody suggest books to prepare for revised GRE?