Urch Forums

760 (q49 V44)

I have been studying for the GMAT for the last 2 months, and just finished writing it this morning.[dance] I don't know what feels better: seeing that '760' flash across the screen, or knowing that the GMAT ordeal is behind me. I am still pretty wired about the result - I was aiming for about 700 or so.

I have been studying for the GMAT for the last 2 or 3 months, and have been lurking on this forum for about a month. Naturally I have formed some opinions on how best to prep for GMAT, so here they are. Sorry if my thoughts are a bit disjointed - I am still feeling a bit wired:

First of all I just want to say, the sysadmin, Erin, knows what he is talking about. Pretty much all the advice I have read from him on this board on prepping for the GMAT was on the money. Much of what I did was based on his advice. My thanks to him, and also to my fellow Canadian, Ursula, for generously sharing her advice and experiences with us all. Much of the advice I provide below as already been mentioned by these two folks.

If you remember only one thing about this post, remember this: To do well on the GMAT:

1. get the ETS Official Guide for GMAT (OG)

2. do all the questions, or as many in the book as time permits

3. read the explainations in the [tooltip=Official Guide]OG[/tooltip] as to WHY the answers are right or wrong (don't just check what the right answer is, read why ETS thinks it is right or wrong - the GMAT is, stricty speaking, not a test of how well you understand reality, but rather how well you understand ETS' perception of reality).