Urch Forums

450 -> 730 (Q49;V41)

yipeekaiay

Forums like this provide a valuable service. I hope to make a small contribution by sharing my GMAT experience.

I took the Princeton Review online diagnostic before I started to study for the GMAT, and scored somewhere between 400 and 500 (the diagnostic gave only a range). I was a little worried.

After studying for a couple of weeks, I took the 1st PP, and scored a 650. I stuck to my plan (see below) and took the real GMAT last week. I got a 670, with a 66% Q score.

I was an engineering major in college, and was not happy with my score - never mind business school, I thought my alma mater might want its degree back. Against conventional wisdom, I signed up for the next available session, which was 4 days later (in a new calendar month). I studied over the weekend, and got a 730 - I get to keep my degree.

Now, the question most people ask by the time they get to this point in this type of post...

For me, there was no secret; however, there was a plan.

First, I knew that because I never faired-well on standardized tests, I would need to put in the time. I spent ~20 hrs creating a plan that I felt would give me a good chance to get the score I wanted (I thought mine would give me a 90% to score >= 700), and that I could execute (190 hours over 11 weeks).

Next, I made a daily schedule including date, lesson, location, and duration. I marked my progress so that I would stick to my plan - I missed one day because of work. I ended up spending > 200 hours over the 11 weeks.

Next, I took an active approach to studying - there are many good posts on various techniques - that included using not only [tooltip=Official Guide]OG[/tooltip] and Princeton/Kaplan books, but also outside resources such as grammar texts and the web. I found that I needed "extra" explanation - especially on grammar - not covered in the GMAT prep books.