Urch Forums

760 GMAT - Yet another! (Q49, V44)

ZeroGee

I took the GMATs on Friday September 10th after about a month and a half of preparation. I will be applying to the top tier business schools next fall with plans to begin my graduate education in September of '06. My first choice is Harvard by a large margin, as I am interested in "General Management" much more so than anything relating directly to Marketing or Finance. I would like to eventually start a Space Tourism company.

With that out of the way, I received a 760, with an identical breakdown (Q49, V44) to the PowerPrep 2 test I had taken 4 days earlier. It is said that a good GMAT score can't get you into Business School, but a bad one can keep you out. In addition, as an engineer, I believe that the high verbal score will reflect positively on me and present me as a "well-rounded candidate." With that in mind, I am happy with my score, and I recognize that getting a few more questions right wouldn't change anything about my chance of admission; still, I am surprised how flustered I got during the exam.

The essay section was actually enjoyable, as it was a low-stress way to ease into the testing. The quantitative section started fine, but then I hit a problem-solving question that seemed easy, and I continually seemed to make mistakes. Rather than give up and go on, I fought through it, and then suffered from time pressure. This in turn raised my stress levels considerably, and I wish I had just made an educated guess and moved on. I rushed through the next few problems in an effort to "get back on pace," which was also a mistake. When I got to the final question, I actually had eight minutes left, which just goes to show you that you need to go with the flow, and not worry too much about your preconceived notion of where you should be.