Urch Forums

710 (Q 49, V 36, AWA 6) - My Debrief :o)

natalie82

Hey everyone! I had to take a long flight yesterday so I had good time to write a debrief. Here it is finally!

My Background

I am 24 years old and I work at a very large internet company (whose site all of you have surely visited today). I will keep the name anonymous for the sake of my own anonymity. I have an engineering background and thus an MBA was the last thing I was thinking about as I graduated college. I worked at a smaller company for a year, and then moved to my current company. When I began working, at first I was focused on advancing down the technical path, but slowly I realized that high-impact positions are usually more management related (the higher you go) than technical. At my current company I worked hard and excelled quickly. I was promoted within 9 months of working and in 13 months I was made the engineering lead of a fairly large public product of ours. This is around when I started looking into an MBA. I was inspired to be an engineering manager, so in the future I hope to get to a point where I don’t have to code on a daily basis, but I have a great impact on the products still.

The Prep

I was exceedingly busy at work and so I was looking for a prep schedule that would be longer but consisted of smaller pieces per day. I researched on TM (and read some great debriefs btw), and also talked to some friends who had taken the GMAT already. I developed a 10 week study plan and ordered books.

Since I was initially very excited about getting started, while my books were still arriving, I started going to a local bookstore in the evening to study. I have used Princeton Review books in the past and had been satisfied before so I decided to start with them for GMAT.