Sponsored Ad:

Thread: My GMAT score - 510 :(

Good post? Yes | No

Unhappy My GMAT score - 510 :(

Sponsored Ad:
    I just took the GMAT this morning. It was my first one, and I scored a 510. I'm just mentally exhausted from all the studying I've done. I prepared by taking a course through Kaplan. I didn't feel ready to take the test after it was done, so I repeated the course and opted to do the workshops instead of attending the classes again. the first time I took the course I spent so much time trying to keep up with their homework schedules, quizzes, etc. that I just didn't have time to do much else. I was pretty upset because my instructor recommended that I actually NOT purchase the official guide (11th edition). I also made my own flashcards during this time.

When I repeated the course, I decided to buy TOG anyway. For the next three months I used Kaplan online workshops, the Kaplan books from my course and TOG. I studied 3-4 hours everyday. I did practice tests through Kaplan and actually repeated a few tests to see how I was doing. Overall, my very first diagnostic score 6 months ago was a 420 or 430. So today's score was a big improvement from that. From then on, my practice test scores ranged from in the 400-500's with my highest score being a 530.

I walked out of the test today and just cried my eyes out. I feel like I studied so hard, and used all available resources and still did not do well. My math score was 29%!

One issue I had ws the timing. In my practice tests I was always timed. I started timing myself when doing problems from TOG.

american university's deadline for next fall is in March. I dont knwo if I should re-take in February, or push up everything and shoot for admission in Spring of 2009 (leaving me with many more months to study). The schools I'm applying to genearlly want a GMAT score of 560 and above.

Thanks,

PersianPhoenix

Trying to make mom and pop proud

Good post? Yes | No
    persian.