Urch Forums

1470 GRE - (710 Verbal; 760 Quant.) - 3 1/2 weeks of studying

Just took the GRE and am elated to have a 1470GRE w/ 710 in Verbal and 760 in Quantitative! Will update with essay scores once received!

I've had a lot of obligations so I didn't have much time between the end of my junior year semester and the beginning of an archaeological dig in Africa to study for this test. My goal was at least a 700 in both sections, and I exceeded it. To anyone interested, here's how I studied and how my test went. My background is as follows: I am a Biology and Anthropology Major, and in terms of math background, I've had 2 semesters of calc and 1 semester of biostatistics, all of which I barely remember. I'm a native English (and Spanish) Speaker, and I definitely don't read as much as I'd like to but I do have to read a lot of long academic stuff for my studies. I have a 3.9GPA at a top 50 research university. Not a top tier school, but still respectable.

I started off studying with Kaplan's "GRE Exam 500 Words in a Box" flash cards. I excluded all the words I already knew (being careful if there was a secondary meaning) and then studied the rest at a pace of about 70 cards a day for 5 days, reviewing the previous cards so that I didn't forget any. At about the same time I read and did many exercises as I could for math in Kaplan's GRE 2011 book. After I got through all 500 words, I started reviewing for the verbal section, which felt a bit pointless. The main thing I learned was how to spot tricks and how to form strong bridges between analogies.

I thoroughly read the entire preparation sections of Kaplan's book and also did the same with the Princeton Review GRE book. I additionally memorized all of the words in the "Hit Parade" of the Princeton Review Book and many of the words in Kaplan's book although it was annoying to have to look up the definitions since Kaplan doesn't provide any.