Urch Forums

1470: V690, Q780 Finally, finally done

dvader

This forum was great help for me and I would like to give back to the community by answering any questions there might be. My score isn't above 1500, but I am very happy with it.

Background

I'm an Electrical Engineer at UT Austin and this is my last year.

Study Materials (Number of Practice tests taken: ~30)

Princeton Review: Word Smart for the GRE 2nd Edition

Princeton Review: GRE Prep

Kaplan: Verbal Workbook

Kaplan: Comprehensive Program 2007 Edition Book

Kaplan: Higher Score CD

Cambridge Review

MyGRETutor.com (Just do the first free test. The remaining tests were horrible.)

PowerPrep

Story

I started preparing for GRE on May 10th 2008, and my last GRE was September 9th (I took it once on Aug. 9th and got 1300). I was working full-time as an intern at a major semiconductor company, so 3 hours a day on weekdays was the best I could do. Weekends were all-out GRE though. Over the course of the 4 months, I barely went out with friends, and the only movie I watched was The Dark Knight. Mark my words: In retrospect, this was absolutely unnecessary, so please balance your time and spend some time with buddies.