Urch Forums

I have a Dilemma

Stormgal

I am a 33 year old American-born female who's interested in pursuing an MBA, but I feel that my efforts will be futile, since I am not a manager, nor have I ever had any real experience as a manager.

I'll tell you what I do have, so that you can help me see if my efforts will go to waste:

I've been working at the same job for about 8 years, however in two different departments. I have received professional recognition and promotions at work - but not to the management level. At the company where I work, to be promoted to management, you either have to transfer to a different department into a management position, or your supervisor has to plead his case over and over again to a much larger committee, cutting through time consuming red tape. (My boss had supposedly tried, but his efforts were fruitless).

I have 10+ years of community service and volunteer work.

My undergrad GPA is 3.8, but I have yet to take the GMAT. I graduated with latin, and greek honors, and received a prestigious honors award. ( I also received two different awards for my community service - one from the city where I live).

Do you think that the adcom will ask themselves something like, "Why is this old woman interested in an MBA, when she's really never managed." In other words, is management experience really a prerequisite for entry into an MBA program?

I really would love to attend business school, but everytime that I read other prospective student's sample essays, and listen to their experience, they often start with something like, "I have over 10 years of leading the Engineering department at Chrysler..." http://www.click-smilies.de/sammlung0304/traurig/sad-smiley-021.gif

Hi,

I am an indian female engineer and just like you, I don't have any mgmt experience either.