Urch Forums

Creative Writing MFA?

Erin

I really appreciate the addition of this section in the admissions forum Erin!

I'm applying for Multimedia and Digital Animation but I too found it very hard to get any information on programs and admissions (let alone financial aid).

Here's hoping that fellow artists/sufferers :D can contribute to this and help each other out!

TM rocks!! http://www.geocities.com/sdpkelkar/Smilies/thumbup.gif

• 1 year later...
Hi this isn't strictly about MFA, but I'm an Indian and I have an admit to the Master of Professional Writing Program at USC for fall 2008, and I'm finding it difficult to get info too! It's an expensive course, working out to about 27000 USD. (around 19 lakh). I was wondering if you know alumni from the course or could help me with some contacts so that I could get an idea about the kind of job opportunities or earning capacity after completing the program. Since writing is a pretty unstructured course/industry as compared to an Engineering or MBA course where it's easy to say what a starting salary will be like, I don't want to take a huge loan until I know that the jobs I might get will be decent enough for me to be able to repay the loan. I also wanted to know what I should do to apply for aid/scholarships from USC itself. Can you please help? I'm really interested in doing the course and don't want to pass up this opportunity since admission itself is really competitive. Thanks a ton.

• 2 years later...

Hi, I planned to apply for MFA in poetry this fall. I am a native Chinese majoring in English. I developed my writing style during the process of translating Chinese poems into English poems. I have specific interested poets, writers and approaches.

I think the main point of studying literature are: identifying references, connecting thoughts, ideas and writers and forming your own theories.