Urch Forums

Extended Internship in Texas - Can I do all 1,500 hrs in one place?

MariaBKK

Hi,

I'm a foreign grad pharmacist and I already passed FPGEE and TOEFL. I'm now waiting for my FPGE Certificate. I already got a pharmacy that I can work at and earn my internship hours.

The question is, can I earn my 1,500 hours in only one pharmacy setting? What is the requirement?

Another question is, in the Internship Instructions, it states that the extended intern registration will be expired if the extended-intern fail NAPLEX or MPJE. I would like to have the clarification that if the failure occur within 6 months after getting FPGEC, will I have a chance to re-take the test and try to pass within 6 months or the extended intern will be expired immediately after the first attemp regardless the period of time?

I tried to call the Texas State Board, it kept transfer me to the voice mail, I also sent them an email and I have not got any reply yet.

Thank you for any help.

• 2 months later...

Hi Maria

You can do the 1500 hours in one pharmacy or more, provided that you will have to register EACH of them to TSBP. However, by TEXAS law, you are only allowed to do a maximum of 50 hours per week as Extended Pharmacist Intern.

Regarding taking NAPLEX and MPJE, both of them should be taken within 3 months when you start your Internship. The grounds of termination of your Extended Pharmacist Intern title is, if you FAIL either NAPLEX or MPJE; 3 months had lapse and you have not taken the exams. You may want to refer to the TSBP website for completeness and accuracy of informations.