Urch Forums

Intern License Requirement

bigskyMT

I am a foreign pharmacy graduate and lives in Montana. Last week I got an internship position in a skilled nursing facility. I submitted my intern application at the MT Board of Pharmacy and has received an email stating :

1. Please provide proof of your completion of the first 30 days of your first professional year.

Can anyone please tell me what exactly is this requirement. I tried calling them and have had left a voice message but I did not get any response back.

Also, I got another paid internship job but the pharmacy manager told me that the maximum days he can give me is - 2 days in a week. While the other one, is a full time but on a volunteer basis. The chief pharmacist and I kinda talk about the possibility of getting paid later but nothing was really sure about anything. So I have to relocate and get an apartment and daycare for my son while having no income. But I can do max 48 hours in a week. While the paid internship of two days in a week would take me two years to complete the 1500 hours. I am torn which one should I choose since we are just right on budget. Will appreciate any thoughts you might have on this one. thank you very much for your time.

Hi there,

I think it's possible you submitted the wrong forms. I'm a foreign grad & just started my internship too. I know it varies from state to state, but in Texas as a foreign grad one would submit the form for "extended intern" application while if one is currently a student in a College, you will submit a student intern application form. That 30 hours they are asking - is a requirement of the student intern application. For extended intern thru would ask for your FPGEC certificate. So maybe go your state board's website to verify you submitted the correct forms & you can give them a call to find out what they need as proof of the 30 hours.