Urch Forums

Profile Evaluation - Accounting

TheAmazingSteve

Due to feedback I received on these very forums I have decided to delay applying to accounting programs until next year. What follows is my current profile, some notes about what I am doing to improve it, and a request for advice.

Current profile:

GMAT: 740 (97th) Verbal 48 (99th) Quant 44 (66th)

UGPA: 3.2 from a flagship state school

MBA GPA: 3.9 from the same flagship state school

One good letter of recommendation, no research experience

3 years work experience (hedge fund accounting). I am now an Internal Audit manager (3 months experience).

What I am doing to improve:

I just completed my first quarter of calculus (A) night classes. Over the next three quarters I plan to take two more courses in calculus as well as one in linear algebra. I also plan to retake the GMAT. Without study prep for the GMAT I scored a 46 quant and 48 quant on consecutive practice tests this month. I am going to do self-study over the next three-four months before retaking in March/April. If necessary I will retake a second time in May before the format change in June. Every Friday of it is offered (typically about 25 Fridays a year), I attend an accounting research colloquium at OSU. Top researchers, including luminaries from NYU, Stanford, and UNC, presented this quarter.

Requests from you:

1. What else can I do to improve my profile? Is there any way for me to gain research experience (including scrubbing data, doing literature summaries) between night classes and work?

2. Assuming the following, am I competitive for a top ten school? How about top twenty?

3.9MBA GPA

3.2UGPA

2 Strong letters of recommendation

Strong, detailed, targeted SoP

A's in calculus I, II, and III and Linear Algebra nightwork

90th+/90th+ GMAT score

3 years work experience hedge fund accounting, 2 years work experience internal audit (wealth management)

No research experience