Sponsored Ad:
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Profile Evaluation - Accounting or Finance

Trying to make mom and pop proud

Good post? Yes | No

Profile Evaluation - Accounting or Finance

Sponsored Ad:
    Hi All,

I need your help in evaluating my chances of getting accepted at a Phd program in the U.S. I have a bachelor's degree in Accounting and Finance from a top 100 university with a 3.98 GPA and associate's degree from a comunity college (3.9 GPA). I have also completed the course work for another bachelor's degree in Europe where I've taken some higher level math classes. Unfortunately, this was a while back and since I got credit for these math classes, I didn't have to take almost any advanced level math and stat classes in the U.S. Also, I am a CPA and CFA level II candidate. I also have almost 3 years of public accounting experience and 1 year of experience as a Research Assistant at my university. I think that I will get good recommendations from my professors. I don't have the time to study full time for months for the GMAT but I am hoping to score in the 650-700 range. My interest is in Finance and more specifically, in Capital Markets. I would settle for Accounting if I don't get accepted in a finance program. Do I stand a chance to get into a top 60 Finance program with my credentials?

Within my grasp!

Good post? Yes | No
    If you're aiming for Finance, you should be aiming to score >700, and really as high as you possibly can, with the goal of maximizing your Q score.

How did you do in the math classes? Which classes did you take?
    You were a research assistant for a finance/accounting prof who will be providing you a letter of recommendation?

I think if you score well on the GMAT, and if you can get those good recommendations from your professors that you stand a pretty good chance to get into good schools... but Finance isn't my area so take my advice with a grain of salt.

Within my grasp!

Good post? Yes | No