Urch Forums

Changing Programs

GreggM

Hi Everyone,

I am new at posting here but I've been lurking for quite a while! I've decided to make this post as I am facing a conundrum right now and from what I've seen here, all of you are very knowledgeable and provide fair enough comments and thoughts.

I am a second year student at a top B school in Europe. I decided to pursue a PhD because I really enjoy research and teaching (no matter how hard, time consuming and frustrating it can get, I still manage to keep up and end-up enjoying it). I decided to come to my current program based solely on rankings, fair fit with my research interest and the impression that the program was similar to US schools, however, now I have come to realize that the academic culture of the program is not a good fit for me and it has actually affected my performance (I am still above average the cohort, yet not to my usual standards). When I say academic culture I am referring to mentorship, involvement with faculty early-on, "general approach" and other things I really would not like to mention here. In summary, so far, I have discussed this with former professors from the US and Europe, and friends who are doing their PhD's in the US, and even when of course you will face difficulties everywhere, all of them have recommended me to apply to US programs.