Urch Forums

PhD Management Chances? Low GPA/No Work Experience

phdmanagement

Hello,

I was just wondering what my chances would be for a PhD in Management. I would like to specialize in Organizational Behavior.

Stats:

GPA: 3.2

GMAT: 720

I majored in History and minored in Economics at a non-elite state flagship university.

I'm a recent graduate with no formal work experience. Just some standardized test tutoring and health care volunteering.

Thank you

Can't discount anything completely, but I would venture to say that acceptance into a T30 or perhaps even T50 would have a less than ideal probability. If you are truely set on this career path, would you consider spending the next two years in a research oriented master's program in related field and get involved with research? This may help bolster your application package.

Just a thought.

Thank you very much for your quick response. Yes, I would consider getting a master's degree if that is what I needed to do to get into a credible program. What would you recommend getting one in? I haven't really seen a trend in what master programs are popular with the PhD students I've looked up. I've seen everything from sociology to economics to engineering to many having their MBA. Also, do you think I need to attend a T30 or T50 to have a good chance at getting a job in academia or could I possibly get into a lower ranked school now without a master's and still be fine career wise?