Urch Forums

Seek advice after fail this year. Thank you.

4869HJL

Hello, everyone! This is my first time to post and I sincerely hope you can give me some advice in terms of what should I do in next step.

As an international student, I apply to 15 schools this year in Management program. However, I can claim now that I fail this year. Although I got an interview from two European schools, which (and only them outside of US) can really compare to the top American programs. Eventually, I got rejections from them. In addition, I also got an interview from a top 20 US Management department but again fail to get an offer.

What confuses me a lot is that I am just ignored (no interview/no contact) by other US programs and some of them are quite lower ranked since I want to have some relative safe schools in my application pool.

What should I do in next step? I don't know how can I improve my profile since the feedback from my application this year is confusing and misleading. I expected to receive more interviews, which however turns out to be my illusion even after the two European interviews.

Thanks for your reply and insights. I really appreciate them.

Sorry to hear that. This is a tough process.

First, you may actually have a chance at those lower ranked schools. I think you should contact them and ask about an update. The fact that you interviewed at higher schools implies that your package looks decent. This could actually deter some lower ranked programs. If you express interest there is a chance that you will get an interview there. I wouldn't give up on this season until you are rejected from every school.

Second, this is just a guess, but you may benefit from working on your English skills over the next year. Your writing here is fine, so I am only basing this on the fact that you had 3 interviews and were rejected from all of them. That rate is a little high and could be explained by poor spoken English.