Urch Forums

Profile Evaluation (PhD Marketing - CB) & Advice needed (esp. from XanthusARES ^^)

trinhtucseadon

Hello everyone,

I am an international student & I intend to apply for a PhD in Marketing (CB) this fall (2017 fall – 2018 matriculation).

I’d be grateful if you could help evaluate my profile and give me some advice on what I should do to enhance my application.

Here are some information about me:

Test Score: expected GMAT score would be in the 700-750 range (I’m studying for the test)

Undergrad GPA:7.84 out of 10 (B.A in Foreign Trade Economics from a local university);

Graduate GPA: 3.92 out of 4 (MBA from an international business school in Asia, T100 in The Economist ranking list). Concentration in Finance; I also passed the CFA level 1 exam.

Research Experience: NONE (even though I did 2 researches at undergrad level – 01 won a research reward in a local competition; wrote a Thesis for my Master degree. Still, I don’t know if those count much in the application)

Teaching Experience: LITTLE (working as a T.A. for a language center for 02 years; T.A for financial accounting classes for 02 semesters)

Work Experience: 7 years working in the industry in brand management positions

Concentration Applying to: Marketing (CB focus)

Number of programs planned to apply to: 10

Dream Schools: T10, but it’s just THE DREAM! I’m willing to apply to T50 and lower

Other information:

1. I want to pursue a PhD because I am interested in the intellectual motivation that an academic path offers. I enjoy both the intellectual challenges from doing pioneering researches and teaching. I choose Marketing (CB) because I really like to observe people and discover crucial insights about them.

2. About my profile, I do have specific worries that I’d like to ask for your advice: