Urch Forums

applying for finance PHD in 4-5 years, how to improve resume?

mazloom1994

Hi there everyone, happy to be here

About me:

1. I'm a 23 years old Iranian, in the last year of my industrial engineering bachelor. GPA 3.4 will probably be 3.5 by the end of my Bs.

2. I've been working full time while studying for the past year (as an accountant) and I also have 2 year of military experience (mandatory military service).

3. I'm studying for the CFA level 1 in this December. and have passed the three first levels of ACCA so far.

4. I'm also fairly competent at VBA and I've been making financial models for fun for the past year. (Valuations, Stock Pitches, M&A, LBO, etc.)

5. took a diagnostic GMAT test last week and got a 650 (Q50, V28) I have to work on my verbal.

My goals:

1. I'm going to apply for MSc. finance or economics in December 2018 (don't have the $ right now!)

2. my first choice is Bocconi master of finance, I'm also going to apply to RSM, SSE, st.gallen, among others. I'm not going to apply to US or UK since in all honesty, I won't be able to afford the tuition and living expenses

3. my long term goal is to finish my masters with a high GPA and one or two papers (hopefully I can get an RA position in the second year) and then apply to the top 10 (and probably get rejected and die a sad death!)

A research opportunity:

So there is this Professor I know in my country, kind of a big deal in here, which outside Iran means nothing. anyway, after a meeting, he found out about my intentions and told me that he's willing to mentor me until I leave Iran. he told me that I can start a project or try to write a paper and he is going to help me with it (show me how it's done, how to send it out to journals and what not) I have 2 years for this.