Urch Forums

Profile Evaluation Management/Organizational Behavior

FeastLumpi

Dear Forum,

I've only been reading quietly up until now, but would love to ask for your help. I'm an international student from an approx top 10 European undergrad business school having done a somewhat unusual program focused around business administration, organizations and society. I'm now headed to one of the UK schools (think: Oxford, Cambridge, LSE) to get a (one-year) masters in sociology. Since I'm simultaneously looking to apply to phd programs (mostly) in organizational behavior or management, some feedback would be highly appreciated.

Test scores: GRE Q:164 (87th) V:164 (94th)

Undergrad GPA: converts to 3.83/4.00 (top 5%)

Graduate GPA: no grades available at the time of application deadlines.

Research experience: started out as an editorial assistant for a (barely respectable) journal about 2.5 years ago. Started taking on more research related tasks for the prof/editor over time (mostly data cleaning in the beginning) and am now heavily engaged in research project for which I am going to be a coauthor. We might have the paper handed in somewhere by the time of the applications, but there won't be any results yet. The paper itself is situated in a field I probably would not consider myself to be working with when doing my own research, but it is business research.

Going to try to do everything in my power to get another RA position at my master's institutions by the time of the application deadlines.

Teaching experience: none

Work experience: nothing substantial

Concentration Applying to: Management/Organizational Behavior (/Strategy)

Number of programs planned to apply to: as many as I can produce high-quality statements for throughout the next months. Probably between 10-15.

Dream Schools: MIT, LBS, Berkeley-Haas

What made you want to pursue a PhD?