Urch Forums

Explaining a (very) bad first try at the academy

Granps

My first go at academic studies was over ten years ago, and was a total disaster. I failed courses and left after a year.

It took me more than 5 years to return and complete my degree in a different discipline. My second try was considerably better. Graduated summa cum laude. I directly continued to a master, which I graduated with honors as well.

My questions:

1. Do I need to provide the transcripts from the first go, even though the grades had no bearing on my complete degree(s)?

2. If I do, and I can address this in my SOP (I was very ill as a teen and hardly went to school which culminated in me dropping out, having un-diagnosed learning disabilities (at the time), no learning habits..), will it be held against me?

3. If I need to address this in my SOP, how to do so without it coming across as whining? My grandfather always said - if you need to make an excuse, make one, not many, or else it just sounds like you're making excuses.

Thanks!

I had one bad semester right after high school and then graduated magna cum laude from a different school when I was a little older. I also happened to do my master's at the first school, so I definitely had to send transcripts. The GPA that semester wasn't terrible, like 2.7 or something, but I don't think it affected me.

1. While I don't think anyone would ever know if you didn't send the transcripts, applications ask for all college level coursework and I think you should send the transcripts from your first college experience.

2. I don't think it will be held seriously against you. The more recent stuff is much more relevant.