Urch Forums

Mentioning professors in SOP good/bad/neutral?

TaxGal

Accounting hopeful here, I'm trying to finish up my personalized portion of my SOPs for a few schools that I really want to go to, like these are my dream schools. Upon reviewing the department websites there are a few professors whose research really interests me but I have no way of knowing if they are involved with the Phd program. Should I mention my interest in their research specifically or will that hurt me if they aren't working with the program?

Also there are multiple professors at one program that in interested in so could I mention maybe 2 of them in hopes that at least one is working with PhD students? I have no research experience so I want my SOP to drive home that I at least kinda know what research is and what I'm interested in without being too specific and I figure showing I read a few articles from current professors may help but I could be wrong.

In my opinion, it is definitely a good thing. As it proves that you are already thinking about your potential research ideas. I started my PhD recently and already I am working on couple of projects, one from my topic of interest and another project led by my supervisor (also very interesting topic). Over the course of the initial years of the PhD, your interests might change. But by mentioning their names in your SOP, you would send right signals to the admissions committee.

Also there are multiple professors at one program that in interested in so could I mention maybe 2 of them in hopes that at least one is working with PhD students? I have no research experience so I want my SOP to drive home that I at least kinda know what research is and what I'm interested in without being too specific and I figure showing I read a few articles from current professors may help but I could be wrong.