Urch Forums

Profile Evaluation: PhD business analytics / management science

maradona22

Test Scores (GRE): V152(56%) , Q164(87%) , AW 4.0 (60%)

I graduated from one of the top tier universities in my country (Not US and North America)

Undegrad GPA: 3.42 / 4.0 (full tuition waiver for 4 yrs) - Major (Business Administration)

Graduate GPA: 3.91 / 4.0 (full tuition waiver for 2 yrs) - Major (Business Analytics)

Research Experience: One conference proceeding in IEEE related conference (Co 1st author) + oral presentation

Teaching Experience: 3 TA ships (Microeconomics, organizational behavior, Marketing Management

Work Experience: 2 industry projects; one at an international research firm, the other at my university as RA

Concentration Applying to: Business analytics / Management Science / MIS

Number of programs planned to apply to: around 20

Dream Schools: U of Washington, U of Pittsburgh, U of Iowa, Western University (Canada)

Any additional specific questions you may have:

Why are the applicants for the three tracks I mentioned above so rare? Can anyone tell me why they are so scant here?

I can't really help with your application since this isn't my area. However I can talk about briefly why there are so few applicants to the programs you mentioned. Right now a lot of the research questions that can be answered with MIS are more easily answered by other areas (i.e. Marketing, computer science or economics). The number of schools that even offer PhD's in these areas are starting to decline. The truth is that it just isn't the hot topic right now.

Not that doesn't mean that you should reconsider your chosen field. If you have an interest in MIS and have questions that can best be answered using this research stream, by all means you should apply. Just keep in mind that these programs are shrinking and it will be difficult to get a job in an MIS department. Not impossible, just more difficult than the other business areas.

Good luck!