Urch Forums

Accounting PhD Profile Evaluation and Advice

digfilght

Hello,

My profile is

Under GPA : 3.46/4.5 (WES version converted to US standard 3.26/4.0) - Korea Top 10 School/Business Major

Grad GPA : Currently 4.0/4.0 (I can maintain around 4.0) - Master of Accountancy at US top 40-50 business school

Work Experience : Accounting Department at one of the global companies in Korea for 5 years

GMAT : 730 (Q50,V38)

No Research experience, but planning on applying for RA at the master program I am currently studying at.

Almost No Math background (Business Math at undergraduate: Grade B)

No Statistics background, but planning on taking SAS class this winter

Letter of Recommendations : Planning on asking 2 from accounting research professors, 1 from accounting lecturer

Research Interest : Financial Accounting, Earning Management

Target Schools : Around Top 20-50 schools

1. I would like to apply for some schools this year even though I know I am not that competitive right now.

Will it be an acceptable idea to apply this year without research experience and math/statistics background?

2. If I apply next year after adding some research experience and statistics background, as mentioned above, will I get more competitive?

3. Please evaluate my profile and feel free to give any suggestion.

Thank you very much.

Edited by digfilght

Please help me!

I remember being stressed out about applications (I am now much more stressed out about job market). Based on your questions I assume that you are trying to determine whether it is worth submitting applications this year or not and that deadline is fast approaching.