Urch Forums

Fall 2018 - Accounting PhD Profile Evaluation and Advice

ochaniashish

Hi,

I am from India. I have 3 years of post bachelors corporate experience in a Big 4 accounting firm and 3 months of research experience with two professors at IIM B (one of the top institutes in India for Finance)

Test Scores : 710 (Q51,V33) [using 710 score for admissions] and 730 (Q48,V41)

Under-Grad : Bachelor of Commerce

Undegrad equivalent GPA: 3.57

Graduation : Pursuing Masters of Commerce (Accounting)

Graduate equivalent GPA: 3.27 [ expect it to complete by Jan 2018 ] [ GPA does not include 4th semester results which is yet to come]

Professional Degrees:

1. CA (equivalent to US CPA) [Three times National Rank holder]

2. CFA [Cleared two out of three levels]

3. Company Secretary Executive examination [intermediate level ]

Research Experience: 3 Months of research experience with two professors at IIM-B

Teaching Experience: Nil

Work Experience: 2 years of work experience with EY (One of the Big 4 accounting around the globe) in transaction advisory and 2 years internship experience with EY in auditing and assurance practice.

Concentration Applying to: Accounting

Letters of Recommendation: Two from professors at IIMB and one from vice president at EY.

Number of programs planned to apply to: 20 (Rotman/ The Ohio State/ Wharton/ UCB/ MIT/ Harvard/ Stanford/ USC/ LBS/ Cornell/ Yale/ Penn State/ MSU/ University of Michigan/ NYU Stern/ Olin school/ Northwestern/ Indiana univ/ Univ of Georgia/ Univ of Florida)

Dream Schools: MIT/ Harvard/ Stanford/ MSU

Concerns about my profile:

I do not have a math background but a good accounting background.

I have not done any courses on calculus or linear algebra during my under-grad or grad but I am pursuing courses on calculus online.

Research experience is very less.

Questions :

Is my profile good enough for the above schools and what are the chances?

What do I do to improve my profile?

Thanks in advance !!!