Urch Forums

Holidays and vacation as a phd student

TaxGal

So I just got an offer and from one of my top programs so I’m very excited. I’m married and my spouses career he’s spent 15 years making is at home almost 11 hours away from the college so I understand if he isn’t willing to move until after I’m out of school and in a TT position. Unfortunately that means long distance lots of travel. I was wanting to hear from other current students about holidays and vacation time. When can you leave for Christmas get back after New Years? Can you go home in the summer for a few weeks I f you still can get work done or is FaceTime necessary. Does this change after you complete your comps?

Im an accounting student if that makes a difference. My offer makes no mention of vacation just 20 hour RA position.

A lot depends on the school and your advisor specifically. Some people are perfectly fine with you being away for a while. Some people prefer you to be there all the time.

For the record do not go to a school or work with an advisor who is unwilling to give you a week off at winter break and a week off in the summer. It's not worth it. I can't speak to all programs, but for me I worked in the office through yesterday (12/22). I had a meeting with my advisor at 4 PM and then headed out for a week. I have to get some stuff done at home over the following week, but I won't be back in the office until January 2 at the earliest. For others in my program I know some left around the 19th and won't be back for a month. Again it all depends on what your advisor (and yourself) is cool with. If you can work fine from a separate location, then you'll likely be OK. There are some required things that you'll need to be at school for, but no one is going to bat an eye if you leave for a few weeks during the summer (almost everyone does).