Urch Forums

Profile Evaluation--Finance phd

EconomBarry

Hi all,

I am a junior student and am thinking of applying for a finance phd program in the next couple of years, and here is my profile and concerns:

Undergraduate: U.S. top 10, major in applied math with minor in econ. GPA 3.85

GRE: not taken yet

Math courses: linear algebra(A+), ODE(A), probability and statistics(A), numerical methods(A-), real analysis(A-), stochastic process(A), simulation(A+), optimization(A+), dynamical systems(A), discrete time model(A) .

Econ courses: Intermediate macro/micro, econometrics, corporate finance, time series, behavioral finance, game theoryTeaching experience: 2 years as TA in math department for courses in linear algebra, ODE, calculus etc.

Research experience:

1. Working with a research scientist in data science with focus on using machine learning to forecast political risk and portfolio risk management.

2. Writing a thesis on solving macro-finance systems and wealth distribution using numerical PDE methods.

3. Summer quantitative research at a top quant hedge fund.

Recommendations:

One from an Econ professor who supervised my thesis (Princeton PhD doing finance but young), one from operations research professor who also advised my thesis (specialize in quantitative finance, decently known), undecided for the third

Here are my concerns:

1. I am not sure if I am going to apply for phd right after I graduate, or should I work in quantitative investment (very likely to get an offer at the top hedge fund). How would doing research in a quant hedge fund perceived my the admission committee?

2. I didn't work as a RA for a professor, how does my research experience look like to the admission? Is this enough to be qualified as "well exposed to research"?