Urch Forums

How to build a strong profile for marketing CB Research PhD with no prior background?

laktak

Hey guys! I have an engineering background. I am currently doing my masters in management. I want to apply this fall.

What can I do withing this short time to be a highly competitive candidate in terms of research?

Should I

A) Work under a professor who is highly regarded

B) Work under a professor whose research interests somewhat match mine

C) Work on an independent project based on a topic usually studied in marketing

D) Work on a completely new inter-disciplinary project

Thank you in advance!

Edited by laktak

Work with a professor who is willing to take you on to an active project where you can get the most out of it. Where that is A or B. To be honest, I think most people prior to starting a PhD can't really truly know research interests because the field is so diverse that you may uncover something new that you find more interesting (or at least you find an opportunity to contribute to the literature). I would talk to both professors and say my goal is to get into a PhD next year, and see how they can help/what they would advise. Then it is a bit of an exchange: you are their RA but you get a rec letter & perhaps a door they can nudge.

Hey guys! I have an engineering background. I am currently doing my masters in management. I want to apply this fall.

What can I do withing this short time to be a highly competitive candidate in terms of research?

Should I

Also, if I want to learn more about consumer behaviour research methods, experimental designs and statistics involved in it, what books would you recommend? Are there any MOOC/ Youtube courses that you would recommend?

Thank you in advance!