Urch Forums

Top US universities for OB/Management

panaceum

Hello everyone,

First of all, as I am new to this forum, hello everyone reading this post :)

I am a British student currently in my penultimate year. I know what the ranking for OB for the British unis is but not sure about the American ones.

Is there even any ranking for the top 10 unis? Or is it simply the case that whatever university from the top 10 you apply to it is going to be amazing for OB anyway.

The order I thought about would be Harvard, Stanford, MIT, UPenn, UC Berkley, Columbia, NYU Stern, Chicago, Yale.

While I know there are rankings available online, there is simply this thing you just know from being in a particular country. So any advice on my list, whether you agree, disagree, would add or remove any universities, would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

Be welcome. We are just a few here, but often a good few.

Check past threads, because we have discussed and argued about rankings a lot of times, and some users really did write some great stuff.

First, for PhD, top 10 means absolutely amazing programs in the US, extremely competitive. Even people with perfect profiles apply to a wider range. Usually, top 30 is still very optimistic.

Second, many people use the UTD ranking as a starting point:

Search by Journal, University, Author and Article - The UTD Top 100 Business School Research Rankings

IMPORTANT: that is just a starting point. Relying too much on rankings of any kind is really a bad idea. I totally agree that applicants should think about their own way to develop a ranking, and then do it.