Urch Forums

Where should I apply? interested in computational methods for negotiations & strategy

are

Hello! Hoping to get suggestions on what types of PhD programs in business to apply to given that...

I'm interested in the following application areas: negotiations, M&A, corporate strategy

However, I'm specifically interested in applying alternative/rigorous quantitative approaches to the areas, such as:

• machine & deep learning
  • simulation
  • game theory & mechanism design
  • algorithm & complexity analysis

With these interests, where should I apply? A business Econ PhD program, Operations, Management?

On the one hand I'm afraid the focus in management will be too qualitative, and operations too abstract or specific to supply-chain type problems (also not confident I have the background for it), and also not sure if this falls under the scope of economics...

If it helps, my background is in mathematical economics and I have industry experience in risk analytics & modeling.

Please let me know what you think!

My first thought is that your research interests would fit well in management. Qualitative research is still a minority among published studies (although their numbers are rising in some journals), but many strategy researchers also publish in economics journals using complex quantitative analyses. The level of qualitative emphasis in a program will depend on how many faculty members are doing qualitative work (for whom you may work as an RA); some departments might not have anyone who has extensive qualitative experience. You may or may not be required to take a qualitative methods course depending on the program.