Urch Forums

Profile Evaluation_19fall_US/EU schools_OB

phdquan

New to the forum! feel so grateful to find a place like this to discuss and share our journey, thanks in advance for your attention!

I'm a 1st gen immigrant, got my master's in the US and am currently working in corporate america. I miss the intellectual challenge and freedom to learn, so have been considering a phd for over a year now. Finally retook my GMAT and below is my background. would love to connect with other OB applicants for US schools, so please reach out!

Test Scores (GMAT/GRE):

GMAT 740 (97%) Verbal 41(93%), Quant 49 (74%), Writing 5 (53%), IR 4 (38%)

Undegrad GPA: 3.29/4 (little known school in China)

Graduate GPA: 3.78/4 (ASU-Thunderbird, our grad business school got bought by ASU the year I graduated..)

Research Experience:

one published paper in 2013, second author, Journal of Media and Communication Studies

Teaching Experience: N/A

Work Experience: 3.5 of digital marketing in corporate in the U.S.

Concentration Applying to: Organizational Behavior

Number of programs planned to apply to: 7-8

Dream Schools:

Harvard Business School

Stanford

INSEAD

Other Questions:

What made you want to pursue a PhD?

Born in China, lived in South Korea and the US. As a 1st gen immigrant working in corporate America, I feel very restricted and find it so hard to be a high skilled immigrant worker who wants to contribute. Very passionate about the topic of engagement of high skilled immigrant workers in the developing world, acculturation process; also the digital nomad trend among the current generation

crave for intellectual challenge and freedom to learn on a daily basis

need freedom to learn rather than a set schedule

Questions or concerns you have about your profile?

low undergrad GPA

low GMAT IR Section score, does that matter?

I have a low score in my statistics class in my undergrad in 2012, will the adcom look at individual class scores?